Environment Division

Available for Public Comment

Project Name: Route 95 Housing Development - SRMT Lands Development Initiative

About Us


The Mohawk Territory, which started out as a tiny village, is a truly international community which is home to approximately 10,000 people. (See Map) Located in northern-most New York State and literally bisected by the United States-Canada Border, the present territory, called Akwesasne, a Mohawk word for Land Where the Partridge Drums is divided into two separate federally recognized jurisdictions, The St. Regis Mohawk Tribe and the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne, and one traditional governing body encompassing all of Akwesasne, the Mohawk Nation Council of Chiefs.

The efforts of the Environment Division are directed toward preventing disease and injury, while at the same time, promoting lifestyles that respect, protect and enhance the environment for the next seven generations at Akwesasne.

Largely due to the fact that the St. Regis Mohawk Reservation is situated next to a Superfund site highly contaminated with toxic chemicals, this Tribe has one of the most advanced environment divisions of any Tribe in the Country.

Key Topics

Agriculture ProgramForestry Resources
Air QualityGreat Lakes Programs
Cultural and Ecological RestorationInvasive Species
Environmental CleanupPollinator Protection
Environmental RestorationRegulations
Fish, Water and WetlandsSolid Waste Transfer Station

Contact Us

Environment Division Office

449 Frogtown Road, Akwesasne; Weekdays 8 am to 5 pm; Phone: 518-358-5937 FAX: 518-358-6252

Akwesasne Cultural Restoration Office

82 Indian Village Road, Akwesasne; Weekdays 8am to 5pm; Phone: 518-333-0222

Solid Waste Transfer Station

The Transfer Station is located on 179 County Route 43, Fort Covington, NY. Phone: 518-358-4632, Fax: 518-358-4529, Hours of Operation: Monday - Saturday 7:30 am - 2:45 pm.

Mission: To assist the SRMT community in preserving, sustaining, protecting and enhancing the environment for future generations.