Ldt  Swearing In Nov2014 Web
Ldt  Swearing In Nov2014 Web

Swearing-In Ceremony for New Land Dispute Tribunal Members

Nov 5, 2014

Skidders and Garrow Appointed to Five Year Terms

Akwesasne, NY - The Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe’s Land Dispute Tribunal is comprised of five members and five alternates. The tribunal’s charter is to provide a fair and equitable procedure for the resolution of land disputes among members within the tribe’s jurisdiction. Tribal Clerk, Corleen Jacco, administered oaths of office to Sawentanon Skidders and Diane Garrow at a swearing-in ceremony held at the Community Building on Monday November 3, 2014.

Land Dispute Tribunal Members are appointed by Tribal Council to serve five (5) year terms. Their role is to hear all aspects of any land dispute case, including written and oral testimony and reviewing documents related to the dispute. The tribunal is responsible for developing rules and regulations to ensure the proper implementation of the Land Dispute Resolution Ordinance, originally adopted in February of 2010. The five appointed members of the tribunal are Paul Boots, Rowena General, Darlene Francis, Sawentanon Skidders and Diane Garrow.

Sawentanon Skidders is a 2013 graduate of Pfeiffer University and holds a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science and Criminal Justice.During his college career, he played Division II Men’s Lacrosse and is a father. “I now have the duty and responsibility to serve my community in the best interests of the people with an open mind and a good heart. There is no greater honor than to return home and serve your fellow community members.”

Diane Garrow recently serves as a bus driver for our children and looks forward to serving Akwesasne. Ms. Garrow stated, “I want to be of service to my community and will bring my time and dedication to the Tribunal table.”

# # # #

Download pdf version

Please direct media inquiries to the Communications Department at 518-358-2272.