Chief Ron La France2014
Chief Ron La France2014

Tribal Election Board Certifies 2014 Election Results

Jun 13, 2014

Incumbents LaFrance and Conners Elected to Second Terms

The Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Election Board certified the results of the annual tribal elections held on Saturday June 7, 2014. Community members cast ballots for the positions of Tribal Chief and Tribal Sub-Chief for three-year terms.

The official results show that Ron LaFrance Jr. was re-elected as Tribal Chief and Michael Conners was re-elected as Tribal Sub-Chief.

Ron LaFrance Jr., Jean Square and Kallen Martin were all on the ballot for Tribal Chief. A total of 825 votes were cast, with LaFrance receiving a total of 434 votes. Square received 214 votes Kallen Martin received 25 votes. Numerous members received a total of 132 write-in votes. Nineteen ballots were void and one was spoiled.

Michael Conners received 642 votes for Tribal Sub-Chief. He ran unopposed. Numerous individuals received 89 votes as write-ins. Fifty-nine ballots were void and none were spoiled. A total of 790 votes were cast for Sub-Chief.

Some write-in names were inadvertently left off the tally sheet and a new, certified sheet will be available at next week. LaFrance and Conners will be sworn into office on Ohiarihkó:wa/July 1, 2014.

# # # #

Download pdf version

Please direct media inquiries to the Communications Department at 518-358-2272.