Akwesasne Tourism Strategic Action Plan Comment Period

Jun 30, 2016

Territory of Akwesasne - The Akwesasne Tourism Working Group (ATWG) is pleased to announce a 30-day community comment period for the Akwesasne Tourism Strategic Action Plan (ATSAP). The ATSAP was developed to address the unique challenges and opportunities to develop a sustainable organizational structure that will promote tourism in the Territory of Akwesasne. It identifies overall strategies for tourism, as well as contains a timeline for the successful completion to support the continuous enhancement for Akwesasne tourism.

The ATSAP was prepared by the Akwesasne Tourism Working Group, which is comprised of representative from a number of community organization located throughout Akwesasne, including: Native North American Travelling College, Akwesasne Cultural Center & Museum, Onkwehon:we Arts Council, Mohawk Nation Council of Chiefs, Mohawk Council of Akwesasne (MCA), Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe (SRMT), and Akwesasne Area Management Board.

If you would like to review the Akwesasne Tourism Strategic Action, hard copies are available all locations identified for the Akwesasne Tourism Working Group. Electronic copies are also available on the MCA and SRMT website and can be emailed upon request.

There will be a public presentation of the ATSAP at 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, Ohiarihkó:wa/July 19, 2016 at the AHA Training Center. The 30-day comment period for community members to provide input and guidance ends at 4:00 p.m. on Monday, Seskéha/August 1, 2016.

For more information, please contact Lindsay M. Tarbell, Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe’s Economic Development Planner at (518) 358-2835.

About the Akwesasne Tourism Development Initiative:

The need to develop tourism in the Territory of Akwesasne was identified as a priority in the Akwesasne Comprehensive Community Development Plan (SRMT 2008) and in the Akwesasne Comprehensive Community Plan (MCA 2016). As a result, the Akwesasne Tourism Community Development Initiative was developed through the collaborative efforts of the following representatives that comprise the Akwesasne Tourism Working Group (ATWG): Native North American Travelling College (NNATC), Akwesasne Cultural Center & Museum (ACCM), Onkwehon:we Arts Council (OAC), Mohawk Nation Council of Chiefs (MNCC), Akwesasne Area Management Board (AAMB), Mohawk Council of Akwesasne (MCA), and Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe (SRMT).

The Akwesasne Tourism Working Group is guiding the identification and successful completion of several community tourism projects, events, plans and publications; including the Akwesasne Tourism Strategic Action Plan (ATSAP 2016) that contains objectives being worked on by ATWG sub-groups. In coordination with the Akwesasne Cultural Center, the ATWG is hosting public workshops from November 17-19, 2016 to develop community beautification projects through the sponsorship of The Citizens' Institute on Rural Design™ Award; a National Endowment for the Arts leadership initiative in partnership with the U.S. Department of Agriculture, Project for Public Spaces, Inc., and the Orton Family Foundation.


Download PDF version

Please direct media inquiries to the communications department at (518) 358-2272 or email at communications@srmt-nsn.gov.