Tribal Election Board Certifies Official Candidates List

May 24, 2016

Pursuant to the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe Election and Referendum Ordinance (amended April 2, 2013) Section IX (H), the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Election Board has certified the official list of candidates following the Tribal Caucus that was held on Saturday, May 7, 2016.

The official roster of candidates for the June 4, 2016 Tribal Election are (in no particular order):

Tribal Chief: Ruth Herne Bell, Beverly Cook and Donald Thompson, Jr.

Tribal Sub-Chief: Wendy Adams, Jeffrey Lauzon and Shelley Jacobs

Chief Judge: Carrie Garrow

Traffic Judge #1: Lois Terrance

Traffic Judge #2: Victor Martin

The Tribal Election Board also announced that Walk-In Voting will take place on Tuesday, May 31st from 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. and on Wednesday, June 1st from 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 p.m. In-Home Voting will take place on Friday, June 3rd and needs to be arranged by 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, June 2nd by contacting the Tribal Election Board Member Katrina Jacobs at (518) 358-2272 ext. 2210.

The Tribal Election Board is seeking individuals interested in staffing the (two) 2 days of Walk-In Voting and the Saturday, June 4th Tribal Election. Interested individuals must express their interest in writing to the Tribal Election Board, be at least 18 years of age and an enrolled member of the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe.

Absentee ballots are now available and can be requested by contacting the Tribal Clerk’s Office at (518) 358-2272, as well as for any questions or concerns regarding the eligible voters list. The last day to request an Absentee Ballot is Tuesday, May 31, 2016 by 1:00 pm.

The annual tribal election will be held on June 4, 2016 from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. in the lobby of the Community Building.Voters are required to bring their Tribal enrollment card or other valid photo identification.

# # # #.