Saint Logo2
Saint Logo2

Tribal Election Board Certifies Election Results

Jun 12, 2017

AKWESASNE — The Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe’s Election Board has certified the results from the tribal election held on Ohiarí:ha/June 3, 2017 for the positions of one (1) Tribal Chief, one (1) Tribal Sub-Chief, and one (1) Traffic Court Judge #2.

Pursuant to the Tribal Election and Referendum Ordinance, five (5) business days were provided for written appeals to be provided, which concluded on Ohiarí:ha/June 9, 2017. No appeals were submitted.

As a result, the Tribal Election Board has certified the election results and announced the official winners to be: Michael Conners Jr. for the position of Tribal Chief, Agnes “Sweets” Jacobs for the position of Tribal Sub-Chief and Micaelee Horn for the position of Traffic Court Judge #2.

With the tribal election results finalized, the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe will welcome the official winners during a Swearing-In Ceremony to be held at 11:00 a.m. on Ohiarihkó:wa/July 1, 2017 at the Travis Solomon Memorial Lacrosse Box located at Generations Park in Akwesasne.

The event is open to the public, with lunch provided.

# # # #

The Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Council is the duly elected and federally recognized government of the Saint Regis Mohawk People.