Srmt Election Board Group Photo Web
Srmt Election Board Group Photo Web

Three Tribal Members Join Tribal Election Board

Dec 4, 2019

AKWESASNE – On Tsiothóhrha/December 2, 2019; three (3) tribal members received their oaths before joining the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Election Board. Tribal Clerk Summer Bero conducted the swearing-in ceremony for Ganehtata Davey, Frances Jacobs-Phelix and Rudy Hart; who join current members Hope Wheelock and Kyrie Ransom on the election board.

In accordance with Tribal Council Resolution 2016-77, the Tribal Election Board consists of five (5) members who each serve staggered terms of five (5) years. Together; they provide consistent oversight and uniform application of the Tribal Election and Referendum Ordinance.

Davey will serve a one-year term that ends on Seskehkó:wa/September 15, 2020; while Jacobs-Phelix’s term ends on Seskehkó:wa/September 20, 2022 and Hart’s on Kentenhkó:wa/November 20, 2024. Current Tribal Election Board member Hope Wheelock’s term expires on Seskehkó:wa/September 15, 2021 and Kyrie Ransom’s on Seskehkó:wa/September 13, 2023.

The Tribal Election Board includes two (2) alternates—Deborah L. Terrance, who will serve on the board until Onerahtóhka/April 10, 2022. One vacant alternate position remains open, as interested applicants are currently being reviewed for a future appointment.

To serve on the Tribal Election Board, each applicant had to possess the same criteria of an eligible tribal voter, as well as pass a drug test and complete a criminal background check. Following their individual appointments, they join the Election Board in ensuring, directing and managing the security and integrity of a tribal caucus, elections and referendums.

The first order of business for the full Tribal Election Board will be overseeing a tribal referendum scheduled for Tsiothóhrha/December 14, 2019 on a proposed Medical Marijuana Ordinance and Adult Use (Recreational) Marijuana Regulation.

In advance of the referendum, walk-in voting will take place on Tsiothóhrha/December 10, 2019 and Tsiothóhrha/December 11, 2019 from 6:00 p.m. to 9:00 the Ionkwakiohkwaróron Tribal Administration Building located at 71 Margaret Terrance Memorial Way 37 in Akwesasne, NY.

Individuals may download to view the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe’s Election and Referendum Ordinance, as amended by TCR 2016-77, on the Tribe’s website at underneath “Publications” and the “Election Board.”

For the Tsiothóhrha/December 14th referendum voting information, please visit

PHOTO CAPTION: Ganehtata Davey, Frances Jacobs-Phelix and Rudy Hart received their oaths before joining the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Election Board on Tsiothóhrha/December 2, 2019. They join current Election Board members Hope Wheelock and Kyrie Ransom on the five-member board. Pictured are (from left) Wheelock, Davey, Hart and Jacobs-Phelix.

# # # #

The Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Council is the duly elected and federally recognized government of the Saint Regis Mohawk People.