Tribal Election Board Announces Official Candidates for 2013

May 17, 2013


Tribal Chiefs

  • Beverly Cook
  • Gary Cole
  • Gerald Laughing


  • Debra Martin
  • Andrew J. Cook
  • Shelley Jacobs
  • Jolene Jackson

Traffic Court Judge 1

  • Steven Cook

Traffic Court Judge 2

  • Lois Terrance

Chief Judge

  • Danielle Lazore – Thompson
  • Peter J. Herne

Absentee Ballots are now available and can be requested until Wednesday, May 29, 2013. In accordance with the Election and Referendum Ordinance, Section VII, Eligibility of Voters, states:

At the time of voting an eligible voter must:

  1. Be at least eighteen (18) years of age.
  2. Be an enrolled member of the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe.
  3. Reside in the United States for at least six months immediately prior to the election.
  4. Have their name on the most current eligible voters list. It is the responsibility of all Tribal members to ensure they are on the eligible voters list.

Any questions or concerns regarding the eligible voters list or requests for an absentee ballot can be directed to the Tribal Clerks Office at 518-358-2272.

The Election Board has scheduled Walk-In voting for Wednesday, May 29 and Thursday, May 30 from 5:00 to 8:00 p.m. in the Tribal Community Building. Also, we have scheduled in-home voting for Wednesday, May 29 for those eligible voters who are home bound. Please contact the Election Board to schedule in-home voting at 358-2272.