Srmt Building Logo 4X6
Srmt Building Logo 4X6

Tribal Election Board Certifies Election Results - All Positions Certified

Jun 15, 2022

The Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe Election Board has certified the results from the June 4, 2022, election for the positions of Chief, Sub-Chief, Chief Judge, and Traffic Court Judge #1.

Following the election, the Election Board received three separate appeals by the posted deadline. In accordance with Tribal Council Resolution 2021-59, the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe Election and Referendum Ordinance, the Election Board convened to determine the course of action to be taken on each appeal.

The first appeal was regarding eligibility to vote in the 2022 Tribal General Election. The appellant indicated in their appeal that their tribal enrollment was confirmed, and they received their tribal identification card on June 3, 2022. In accordance with Section VII. Eligibility of Voters, an enrolled member must also have their name on the eligible voters list and this year the eligible voters list was finalized on May 31, 2022. This appeal was dismissed.

The second appeal raised the issue of eligibility of two candidates based on residency, which was also raised by another community member during the vetting process of nominees following Caucus. At the time following Caucus, the Election Board did conduct a re-review of all nominees and based on additional information provided determined that the nominees in question did meet the eligibility criteria to be a candidate for the elective positions. In accordance with Section X. F., which states, “The Election Board’s decision on residency shall be final.” This appeal was dismissed.

The third appeal raised two issues. The first part of the appeal was regarding the application of Robert’s Rules of Order to the 2022 SRMT Tribal Election ballots. Under Section VI. Voting Procedures A., “The Board shall issue ballots containing the following information: the elective position in question; and the names of all candidates running for the elective position.” The Ordinance does not specify the order to list candidates on the ballot. Additionally, upon review of Robert’s Rules of Order Article VIII. Voting Procedures, there is no specification for listing candidate’s name on a ballot for voting purposes and the voting procedure is applied to voting within a committee or deliberative assembly and not for governmental election.

Deborah Terrance, C

Jamie Ross, VC

Kyrie Ransom

Frances Jacobs-Phelix

Rosebud Cook

Elizabeth McDonald, Alternate

Jennifer Brown, Alternate

The second part of the appeal was regarding the nomination process and whether a nominee must be an eligible voter at the time of nomination. Under Section IX. Caucus Procedures, at the time a nomination is made, the nominee must be present to accept or refuse their nomination. Additionally, at the time of nomination the nominator and seconder must be eligible voters. This means that at the time of nomination a person who is not enrolled could be nominated or nominate someone, however, the Election Board’s role is to then vet the nominees and nominators to ensure everyone meets the applicable eligibility requirements. The entirety of this appeal was dismissed.

The three appeals were received and appellants were notified of the Election Boards decisions within the time limits required by the Ordinance.

With the official results signed by each Election Board member, the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe will welcome re-elected Chief Beverly Cook, newly elected Sub-Chief Derrick King, re-elected Chief Judge Carrie Garrow, and re-elected Traffic Court Judge #1 Lois Terrance. Each will begin their three-year term after the completion of the Swearing-In Ceremony on July 1, 2022 at Ionkwakiohkwaró:ron Tribal Administration Building.


The Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Council is the duly elected and federally recognized government of the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe.