Akwesasne Housing Authority Board of Commissioners

Commissioners: Kimberly Herne, Diane Boots, Norman Tarbell, Noah Ransom Jr. (Chairperson), Lois Terrance, Ronald Cook and Barbara Lazore  

The AHA operates several programs for the benefit of low-income tribal members and their families through a block grant program provided by the U.S. Department of Housing & Urban Development. AHA programs and services are administered through legislation known as NAHASDA (Native American Housing Assistance and Self Determination Act), and are governed by a seven-member Board of Commissioners consisting of tribal members.

The AHA provides home ownership and rental opportunities as well as assistance with counseling and training relevant to housing programs benefiting eligible families. The AHA is highly involved in community events and operates micro-programming including sponsoring a volunteer income tax preparation site know as VITA, an employee-driven community fund, and partnering with other tribal agencies to plan and coordinate community facilities and infrastructure projects. The AHA is also a sponsoring agency of the Akwesasne Boys & Girls Club, Akwesasne Charter.