Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe Appoints Mr. Andy Cook to Police Commission

Nov 13, 2013

Chief Judge PJ Herne Congratulates Andy Cook

T­­­he Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe has inherent sovereign authority to govern and provide for the health and safety of its citizens, residents, visitors and territory. Through the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Police Act of 2013, a Police Commission of Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal citizens has been appointed. On October 24, Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Chief Judge Peter Herne swore in the fifth member of the Police Commission, Mr. Andy Cook, at a ceremony held at the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe.

Mr. Cook is retired from St. Lawrence Seaway as a Tug Boat Captain in 2005. He served in the United States Army from 1966-1969, and is a Vietnam Veteran. He and his wife, Irene, own Cook’s Greenery in Akwesasne. They have two children, Derek and Stephanie, and are proud grandparents of Andrew. Andy continues to serve on the Akwesasne Communication Society Board, is a 28-year board member of Mohawk Indian Housing, a Chamber of Commerce President, a former member of the Boys and Girls Club Board and the Diabetes Center for Excellence Board. “He loves to give back to our community. That’s why he serves,” state­­s Stephanie, Executive Director of Education for the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe.

The Tribal Chiefs and Sub-Chiefs welcomed Mr. Cook to his position. After the ceremony, he addressed the small crowd and shared his enthusiasm and commitment to upholding responsibilities of his position. In attendance were two Police Commissioners, Rowena General and Wendy Adams.

The appointed Police Commissioners are responsible for providing independent supervision of the Chief of Police through the implementation and enforcement of tribal laws, regulations and ordinances. Their oath reflects commitment to provide the community with a professional and effective law enforcement agency that is responsive and respectful while serving the community. Chief Paul Thompson stated, “Andy has served our people in professional and community leadership roles for decades. His character is reflected in his dedication to Akwesasne. We welcome him to the Police Commission.”

Current Police Commission members, Wendy Adams, Rowena General, Rudy Hart and John Ransom were sworn in on July 1 of this year and are serving five-year terms. Adams will act as Chairperson in the first year with Ransom, General, Hart and Cook each serving respective one-year terms as Chairperson from 2014 to 2018. The Commission meets on a monthly basis on the second Wednesday at 3:00 p.m. in the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Council Executive Boardroom; the public is welcome to attend the first 20 minutes to review:

  • A report by the Chief of Police;
  • Review of any policies and procedures; and
  • Public comment period

The Office of the Police Commission will be located at the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Justice Building, 545 State Route 37.

# # # #

For further information, please contact the Communications Office at 518-358-2272.

Download pdf version