Saint Logo
Saint Logo

2020 Tribal Caucus and Special Tribal Election

May 15, 2020

AKWESASNE — The Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe’s Election Board will be holding its Tribal Caucus for the Special Election on Saturday, Ohiarí:ha | June 13, 2020. There are three (3) positions open: one (1) Tribal Chief, one (1) Tribal Sub-Chief, and one (1) Traffic Court Judge 2.

The Caucus will begin at 10:00 a.m. at the former IGA Building. Due to the COVID-19 Pandemic and to ensure the safety of our community members, there will be no observers allowed. ATV will stream Caucus live via Facebook and the list of nominees will be posted after Caucus has ended. In order to minimize the amount of people, each position shall be staggered with only the nominator(s), seconder(s), and nominee(s) for each position admitted into to the building. The caucus schedule is as follows: Traffic Court Judge 2 starting at 10:00 a.m.; Tribal Sub-Chief at 10:30 a.m.; and Tribal Chief at 11:00 a.m. All Nominees are responsible for submitting their required documents and drug testing by the close of business day on Wednesday, June 17, 2020 to Cathy Mitchell, Executive Assistant/Board Liaison. The ‘un-official’ list of all nominees will be posted by Friday, June 19, 2020.

In accordance with the Election and Referendum Ordinance, nominators must be an eligible voter and must:

· Be at least eighteen (18) years of age,

· Be an enrolled member of the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe,

· Nominees for all elected positions must be present to accept or refuse the nomination at the time of the Caucus,

· Reside in the United States or in the U.S. portion of Akwesasne for at least six months immediately prior to the election and,

· Have their name on the most current eligible voters list.

For more information on tribal election procedures, special election procedures, candidate eligibility and safety protocols, please visit the Election Board page on the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe’s website, at, to download the Election and Referendum Ordinance and the Election Board’s Special Election Procedures for the 2020 Election and Referendum.

The Special Tribal Election and Referendum will be held from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. on Saturday, Ohiarihkó:wa | July 11, 2020 with Early Voting conducted on Tuesday, Ohiarihkó:wa | July 7th and Wednesday, Ohiarihkó:wa | July 8th from 6 p.m. – 9 p.m. at the Former IGA Building.

Home Voting will take place on Thursday Ohiarihkó:wa | July 9th and Friday, Ohiarihkó:wa | July 10th from 9 a.m. – 4 p.m., by appointment only. To schedule an appointment please contact the Tribal Clerk’s Office by 12pm, Tuesday, July 7, 2020.

Due to COVID-19, Absentee ballots will be available for community members who do not want to vote in-person. Absentee ballots can be requested beginning Ohiarí:ha | June 15, 2020 by calling the Tribal Clerk’s office. Deadline to request absentee ballots will be 12pm, Tuesday, Ohiarihkó:wa | July 7, 2020.

To verify your eligibility to vote, request an absentee ballot, or for questions or concerns regarding the eligible voter’s list, please contact the Tribal Clerk’s Office at (518) 358-2272.