2022 SRMT Tribal Council Photo
2022 SRMT Tribal Council Photo

Tribal Council


Suite #305

Ionkwakiohkwaró:ron Tribal Administration Building

Weekdays, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Phone: (518) 358-2272

The Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Council is the duly elected and recognized government of the Mohawk Tribe. Both New York State and the United States deal exclusively with the Tribal Council Chiefs in a government-to-government relationship.

The Tribal Council is comprised of three Chiefs, three Sub-Chiefs (who are similar in function to vice-presidents) and a Tribal Clerk. Tribal elections are held each year on the first Saturday of June to choose one Chief and one Sub-Chief for a three-year term. The Tribal Clerk is chosen every third year.

The Tribal Council Chiefs are responsible for setting policy and making major decisions on behalf of the Tribe. They oversee the operation of the tribal government and assure that quality programs and services are made available to the Mohawk people. More specifically, the Chiefs review and approve grants, contracts, new programs and the day-to-day business of the Tribe. They settle reservation land disputes, assist tribal members with administrative and governmental problems and preside over monthly tribal meetings. The Sub-Chiefs receive their authority from the Chiefs. If the Chiefs are unable to fulfill their duties or are incapacitated, a Sub-Chief may also be called upon to substitute at a meeting, function, etc., for a Chief who has other commitments.

Chief Michael Karoniatens Conners - Term 2017 to 2023

Chief Ronald LaFrance Jr. - Term 2021 to 2024

Chief Beverly Kiohawiton Cook - Term 2013 to 2025

Sub-Chief Agnes "Sweets" Jacobs - Term 2017 to 2023

Sub-Chief Benjamin Herne - Term 2018 to 2024

Sub-Chief Derrick King - Term 2022 to 2025


2013 Agreement by the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe and the State of New York

2014 MOU by the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe and St Lawrence County and the State of New York

Akwesasne Mohawk Land Claim FAQ Booklet (Compiled as of November 13, 2023)


Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Council Statement On Native Mascots

10292021 Srmt Letter Mason City Community School District Native Mascots