Tribal Election Board Announces Official Candidates for 2015

May 28, 2015

Election to Take Place on Saturday, Ohiarì:ha/June 6, 2015

Pursuant to the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe Election and Referendum Ordinance (amended April 2, 2013) Section IX (H), the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Election Board is announcing the official list of candidates.

The following is the official roster of candidates for the Tribal Election to be held on Saturday, June 6, 2015 in the Community Building Lobby, in order of nomination:

Tribal Chief: Tracy Sunday-Cook, Eric Thompson, Peter John Burns III and Gloria Herne

Tribal Sub-Chief: Margaret Ransom, Ruth Bell, Cheryl Jacobs and Randi Barreiro

Tribal Clerk: Corleen Jackson-Jacco and Betty Roundpoint

Absentee ballots are now available and can be requested until Wednesday June 3, 2015, and must be received by the Election Board by noon on Saturday, June 6, 2015.

In accordance with the Election and Referendum Ordinance, Section VII, Eligibility of Voters, states:

At the time of voting an eligible voter must:

  1. Be at least eighteen (18) years of age.
  2. Be an enrolled member of the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe.
  3. Reside in the United States for at least six months immediately prior to the election.
  4. Have their name on the most current eligible voters list. It is the responsibility of all Tribal members to ensure they are on the eligible voters list.

The Election Board has scheduled walk-in voting for Monday, Ohiarì:ha/June 1 and Wednesday,Ohiarì:ha/June 3 from 6:00 to 9:00 p.m. in the Tribal Community Building. In-home voting is scheduled for Friday Ohiarì:ha/June 5, 2015 for those eligible voters who are home bound.

Any questions or concerns regarding the eligible voters list, requests for an absentee ballot or to schedule in-home voting can be directed to the Tribal Clerks Office at 518-358-2272.

The annual tribal election will be held on Ohiarì:ha/June 6, 2015 from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. in the lobby of the Community Building.Voters are reminded to bring valid photo identification.

# # # #

Download pdf version

Please direct media inquiries to the Communications Department at 518-358-2272.