Certified Stamp
Certified Stamp

Tribal Election Board Certifies Election Results

Jun 24, 2016

Four out of Five Positions Certified

Akwesasne, NY — The Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe Election Board has certified the results from the June 4, 2016 election for the positions of Chief, Sub-Chief, Chief Judge and Traffic Court Judge #1.

Following the election, the Election Board received four separate appeals. In accordance with Tribal Council Resolution 2013-21, the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe Election and Referendum Ordinance, the Election Board conducted hearings giving the appellants the opportunity to address and present evidence regarding their appeals.

Three of the appeals were procedural regarding processes and actions during the election and subsequently identified as not having any effect on the election results but would be addressed in future elections.

An appeal involving the Traffic Court Judge #2 position focused on Section V.A (3) which states "[Candidates] must be willing to sign an affidavit stating they…are a person of good character and sound judgment" Based upon the documentation and testimony given, the Election Board finds that past behavior, actions and decisions by this individual lacked good character and sound judgment and are in violation of this section.

The appeals were received, hearings held and appellants notified within the time limits required by the Ordinance.

With the decision final and signed by each Election Board member, the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe will welcome re-elected Chief Beverly Cook, re-elected Sub-Chief Shelley Jacobs, Chief Judge Carrie Garrow and re-elected Traffic Court Judge #1 Lois Terrance. Each will begin their three-year term after the completion of the Swearing-In Ceremony on July 1, 2016 at 11:00 a.m. inside the former IGA store across from the Akwesasne Mohawk Casino Resort on State Route 37, Akwesasne.

A special election, including a caucus, will be held at a later date to fill the vacant position of Traffic Court Judge #2.

# # # #

Download SRMT Election 2016 Official Results-tally sheet

Download pdf version

Please direct media inquiries to the Communications Department at (518) 358-2272 or email communications@srmt-nsn.gov .