Tribal Election Board Provides Update on Official Candidates List

May 23, 2016

Pursuant to the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe Election and Referendum Ordinance (amended April 2, 2013) Section IX (H), the Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Election Board was scheduled to post the official list of candidates two weeks after the Tribal Caucus that was held on Saturday, May 7, 2016. The Election Board regrets that it is unable to certify the candidates at this time as all the background checks have not been received.

At this time, the unofficial roster of candidates who have accepted their nominations by close of business on Wednesday, May 11, 2016, remains the same and are (in no particular order):

Tribal Chief: Ruth Herne Bell, Beverly Cook and Donald Thompson, Jr.

Tribal Sub-Chief: Wendy Adams, Jeffrey Lauzon and Shelley Jacobs

Chief Judge: Carrie Garrow and Michele Mitchell

Traffic Judge #1: Lois Terrance

Traffic Judge #2: Victor Martin

Any questions or concerns regarding the eligible voters list, requests for an absentee ballot or to schedule in-home voting can be directed to the Tribal Clerk’s Office at (518) 358-2272.

The annual tribal election will be held on June 4, 2016 from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. in the lobby of the Community Building.Voters are required to bring their Tribal enrollment card or other valid photo identification.

# # # #

The Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Council is the duly elected and federally recognized

government of the Saint Regis Mohawk People.