Srmtpd Havfd Monitoring Flood Jpg2
Srmtpd Havfd Monitoring Flood Jpg2

Tribe Announces Office of Emergency Management and Safety

Jan 13, 2020

AKWESASNE — The Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe is continuing to develop initiatives that enhance and protect the overall health and safety of the Akwesasne community. The most recent measure implemented on Tsiothohrkó:wa/January 1, 2020 saw the expansion and re-designation of the Emergency Planning Office to the Office of Emergency Management and Safety.

“This has been a culmination of efforts to create a safe, secure and disaster-resilient Akwesasne by taking a comprehensive approach to emergency management,” stated Derek Comins, newly-named Director of the restructured tribal program. Comins added, “Consolidating our tribal resources under one umbrella helps ensure a unified approach continues to be taken in responding, recovering and mitigating any emergency situation.”

Previously consisting of the Program Manager and a Training Coordinator, the office saw the addition of Tribal Safety Officer Adrian McDonald; who provides safety management, advice and monitoring in the workplace. McDonald’s responsibilities also include engaging tribal employees by facilitating training programs designed to ensure safe practices are continually followed at tribal properties, work sites and places where tribal events are held.

In the coming months, a security unit will also join the Office of Emergency Management and Safety in ensuring adequate safety is provided to staff and guests at tribal facilities. Based out of the Ionkwakiohkwaróron Tribal Administration Building, the security presence will safeguard tribal assets by providing an immediate response to unusual situations and/or suspicious persons.

Opportunities to apply for a security position will be posted, but for more information on the Office of Emergency Management and Safety, please visit the Tribe’s website at, call (518) 358-2272 ext. 2230, or stop by their office located at 71 Margaret Terrance Memorial Way in Akwesasne, NY.


The Saint Regis Mohawk Tribal Council is the duly elected and federally recognized government of the Saint Regis Mohawk People.