Tribal Residency Board

The Tribal Residency Board shall have the following duties and responsibilities:

1.Adopt Board By-Laws and be responsible for performing its duties in accordance with the Tribal Residency Ordinance, including drafting any regulations or hearing procedures in compliance with Tribal law.

2. Develop and distribute Residency Permit forms and applications.

3. Make all decisions required by the Board as set forth in this Ordinance and in Board Regulations. This shall include, at a minimum, decisions regarding qualifications of applications for Residency Permits, renewal and revocation of Permits.

4. Maintain accurate and organized records regarding Board activities and all actions the Board takes under this Ordinance including all of its decisions regarding residency. This may also include creating a Database of all Residency Permits and related data.

Tribal Residency Board Members:
Cheyenne Lazore, Chair
Larri-Lee Skidders
Diane Boots
Crystal Stehlin
Darcie Cree
Vanessa Smoke, Alternate
Alicia Hill, Alternate

Residency Ordinance Faq’S

Residency Permit Application 3.0

Public Information Sessions:

PPT: Tribal Residency Board Introduction - November 7, 2020

VIDEO: Understanding the Residency Ordinance - May 19, 2021

Are you a non-Tribal member looking to live in the southern portion of Akwesasne?

Applying for residency is easy!

Public Notice:

The following individuals are being considered for residency permits under the SRMT Residency Ordinance. Please email or call Cathy Mitchell at 518-358-2272 by May 24, 2024 if you have any objections or concerns.

  • Malinda Oakes

The Saint Regis Mohawk Residency Board can be reached by phone at (518) 358-2272 ext. 2167 or email at